Kerala State, India

Kerala, located in the southwestern region of India, boasts a rich and diverse culture. The people of Kerala are known for their warm hospitality and emphasis on art forms like Kathakali, Mohiniyattam, and traditional music.


The state is renowned for its classical dance and music performances, which reflect its cultural heritage.

Ayurveda, the ancient system of medicine, also holds a significant place in Kerala’s culture, attracting tourists seeking natural healing methods.

Kerala Foods:

Kerala’s cuisine is a delightful blend of spices and flavors. Coconut is a key ingredient in many dishes, and seafood is prevalent along the coastal regions.

The traditional “Sadya” feast served on banana leaves during festivals is a highlight, offering a range of vegetarian delicacies. Kerala’s signature dishes include Appam, Puttu, and various fish and prawn curries that tantalize taste buds.

Kerala Festivals:

Kerala celebrates numerous vibrant festivals throughout the year. Onam, the harvest festival, is the most significant and is celebrated with grand feasts and cultural events.

Vishu marks the Malayali New Year, and Thrissur Pooram is a spectacular temple festival famous for its elephant processions and fireworks.

Other festivals like Eid, Christmas, and Navaratri are also celebrated with equal enthusiasm, reflecting Kerala’s religious diversity.

Kerala Climate:

Kerala experiences a tropical climate, with distinct wet and dry seasons. Monsoons are a significant feature, with heavy rainfall from June to September, rejuvenating the lush green landscapes.

The winter months, from November to February, bring milder and more pleasant weather, attracting tourists from around the world.

The coastal areas enjoy a maritime climate, while the hill stations offer cooler temperatures, making Kerala a year-round tourist destination.

District List of Kerala (with capital cities):

  1. Thiruvananthapuram
  2. Kollam
  3. Pathanamthitta
  4. Alappuzha
  5. Kottayam
  6. Idukki
  7. Ernakulam (Kochi)
  8. Thrissur
  9. Palakkad
  10. Malappuram
  11. Kozhikode (Calicut)
  12. Wayanad
  13. Kannur
  14. Kasaragod

Each of these districts contributes uniquely to Kerala’s cultural, historical, and geographical diversity, offering visitors a glimpse into the state’s various facets.